Australia's most
informative golf website

callaway Ai putter


Australian Masters

Since the first Australian Masters at Huntingdale in 1979, the annual presentation of the gold jacket to the champion has become a notable tradition in Australian golf. Greg Norman became synonymous with the tournament in the earlier years amassing six gold jackets in an astonishing stretch from 1981 to 1990.

Up until 2008 the Masters was always played at Huntingdale and many other big names in the game to have graced Huntingdale's fairways include international stars Tiger Woods, Jack Nicklaus, Nick Faldo, Bernhard Langer, Mark O'Meara, Colin Montgomerie and Sergio Garcia.

Among those to have tasted success in this historic event are Tiger Woods, who won the first Masters played away from Huntingdale, Stuart Appleby, Robert Allenby, Bernhard Langer, Mark O'Meara, Colin Montgomerie, Justin Rose, Peter Senior, Graham Marsh and Michael Campbell.

The event has also given several Australian players the chance to launch themselves onto the international stage after breakthrough victories at Huntingdale. They include the likes of Ian Baker-Finch, Craig Parry, Richard Green and Peter Lonard.

Unfortunately the Australian Masters ceased after the 2015 event. At this stage there is no news of the event beginning again.

The prestigious past champions roll of honour reads as a who's who of the golfing world:
2015 - Peter Senior
2014 - Nick Cullen
2013 - Adam Scott
2012 - Adam Scott
2011 - Ian Poulter
2010 - Stuart Appleby
2009 - Tiger Woods
2008 - Rod Pampling
2007 - Aaron Baddeley
2006   - Justin Rose
2005   - Robert Allenby
2004   - Richard Green
2003   - Robert Allenby
2002   - Peter Lonard
2001   - Colin Montgomerie
2000   - Michael Campbell
1999   - Craig Spence
1998   - Bradley Hughes
1997   - Peter Lonard
1996   - Craig Parry
1995   - Peter Senior
1994   - Craig Parry
1993   - Bradley Hughes
1992   - Craig Parry
1991   - Peter Senior
1990   - Greg Norman
1989   - Greg Norman
1988   - Ian Baker-Finch
1987   - Greg Norman
1986   - Mark O’Meara
1985   - Bernhard Langer
1984   - Greg Norman
1983   - Greg Norman
1982   - Graham Marsh
1981   - Greg Norman
1980   - Gene Littler
1979   - Barry Vivian


  • Senior beats the juniors at Huntingdale

    Nov 23, 2015

    In what was a remarkable performance, elder statesman Peter Senior has upstaged the young guns to capture the UNIQLO Masters at Huntingdale - 24 years since his first victory at this iconic... Read more

  • Wilson joins Scott at top of Leaderboard

    Nov 20, 2015

    After day two at the Australian Masters, Adam Scott and Peter Wilson are tied for the lead at the halfway mark. Playing in the afternoon field Adam Scott looked to have a commanding lead... Read more

  • Ernie Els returns to Melbourne

    Sep 14, 2015

    IMG, owner and promoter of the Australian Masters, today announced that four-time Major Champion Ernie Els will return to Melbourne to play in the 2015 Australian Masters at Huntingdale Golf... Read more

  • Five Aussies battle 79th Masters

    Apr 1, 2015

    With the Masters set to tee off this week, six Australians qualified for an invitation. Marc Leishman however has bypassed the event to be with his young family and support his wife who has been... Read more